top of page

Functions! (and their scoping)

In a previous post, we covered part of the R language control flow, the cycles or loop structures. In a subsequent one, we showed how to avoid ‘looping’ by means of functions that act on compound data in repetitive ways (the apply family of functions). Here, we introduce the notion of function from the R programmer point of view and illustrate the range of action that functions have within the R code (‘scope’). Read more [first published on Datacamp, August 20, 2015]

Who am I?
Carlo Fanara

Following a career in IT, I spent 20+ years in physics (MSc in Nuclear Physics, Turin, Italy, and a PhD in plasma physics, Cranfield, UK).

After several years in academia, in 2008 I moved to private companies working in R&D and, since 2014 in Data Science,

My passions include Science and Languages.

I teach programming and Data Science and occasionally blog on these matters..

Current interest: Deep Learning, IoT, Time Series, and Rare Events.

Teaching
Mind your business!
Places I visit
Follow Me
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Search By Tags
bottom of page